Friday, August 14, 2009

microcontroller Registers

The processor had seven 8-bit registers, (A, B, C, D, E, H, and L) where A was the 8-bit accumulator and the other six could be used as either byte-registers or as three 16-bit register pairs (BC, DE, HL) depending on the particular instruction. Some instructions also enabled HL to be used as (a limited) 16-bit accumulator. It also had a 16-bit stack pointer to memory (replacing the 8008's internal stack), and a 16-bit program counter.

No comments:

Post a Comment